Project

General

drag & drop uploads

Added by yvan vander sanden about 8 years ago

Hello.

I'm new to this library, so first I want to say thanks. I like working with it already.

I'd like to add a drag & drop file upload box, as seen in many modern web applications. I've looked at the WFileUpload widget, but it does not seem to support that. I assume that I'm not the first to desire this feature, so perhaps someone can give me a few pointers about how to do that?

Thanks,

yvan

Replies (11)

RE: drag & drop uploads - Added by Koen Deforche about 8 years ago

Hey Ivan,

This is something we've been willing to integrate already for some time, but never got around actually implementing it.

Can you file a feature request for this?

Regards,

koen

RE: drag & drop uploads - Added by yvan vander sanden about 8 years ago

Thank you for the fast response, Koen.

I've just added a feature request.

Regards,

yvan

RE: drag & drop uploads - Added by Daniel McRobb over 7 years ago

Yvan, do you still need this?

I have a working implementation as of tonight. With the existing Wt facilities (WResource and friends) and a small amount of javascript, it was not very difficult. I'll clean it up and post it in a couple of weeks if it will prove useful. I don't consider it generic or production grade, but perhaps it'll be enough to provide what's needed for a Wt-worthy implementation. The javascript just adds a drop handler with setJavaScriptMember() and registers it with addEventListener via doJavaScript(). I also add an event listener for drop in the WApplication that prevents the browser's default (on the window element).

I haven't looked at adding this as a feature of WFileUpload.

Koen, forgive me for not knowing... is this the right place to post the code snippets or should I put it in the issue that Yvan opened? Or some other communication path?